Florida 2015

I made my annual trek to Florida the last week in January for more bird photography.  Unfortunately that was the week that Boston got its first major snowfall of the year and the storm originated in Florida so it was very cool and extremely windy while I was there.  I did not get as many good photos of birds as I’d like…they were fairly scarce and most were probably still further south of where I was in Tampa/St.Petersburg.  I spent most of my time at Fort de Soto Park along with a few days at Viera Wetlands and a stop at Gatorland.  Gatorland has an amazing bird rookery for nesting herons egrets, ibis, wood storks and other wading birds.  The birds like to nest over alligator habitat which helps keep the number of predators after eggs or babies to a minimum.  Here are a number of images I took during the week and you can see tons more of my photos on my ViewBug photography page. I hope you enjoy my images!

Leave a Reply

